Best bass I can buy for my money?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by savethegibbons, Sep 8, 2004.

1. savethegibbons

Nov 29, 2003
    I've always loved bass, and I'm going to finally start playing (I'm currently a guitarist) soon, and I'm wondering what I should buy for my first bass.

I'm looking for a good solid axe that will last me a long time and will play well. I'm a poor student, so I dont have much money available. My price limit is that of a Mexican Fender J or P.

I want a bass that will cover good musical ground, and will work nicely for slap and pop work. I'll probably be (trying to) play everything from jazz, to funky stuff to metal (mainly melodic death metal, such as old In Flames, Opeth, Dark Tranquility etc).

The current candidates would be the MIM Fender Jazz Bass or one of the SX rondos, although I'm in England so I would have to pay much more for the rondos (about $90 more). I'm actually tempted by the fretlesses too (love the sound) , but I'm thinking it would be unwise.

Any suggestions on what to buy?

Thanks. :D
  2. Have you considered the Rockbass range by warwick? Or Yamahas? Ibanez make some very good basses for that money too.
  3. SX/Brice basses are good for the money, but I don't think it would be justifiable to spend an extra $90 to get it to England, just my .02

For a bass in your price range and for the style you want, either an Ibanez GSR200 or a MIM Fender Jazz would be good. Also, you will be needing an amp unless you already have one for some reason, so factor that in.

4. dlloyd

dlloyd zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Apr 21, 2004
    If you're after an SX, look for Jim Deacon basses... same manufacturer, only difference is the decal.
  5. I think a MIM Jazz Bass, Cort basses, Ibanez!
    I know a shop in Italy that sell Peavey Fury basses, Korean Models, active and great playing and sounding...

It's a Peavey Fury Quilt Top4 Green (available in different colors...I tried them and think they play well....