Best bass under $700 for recording

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by nuemes, Jun 9, 2005.

1. nuemes

Jun 9, 2005
    I've been playing bass as a songwriting tool for quite a few years and have now begun to get into recording.

I've gotten only muddy recordings using my Danelectro Longhorn and Fernandez Jazz bass and would like to purchase a bass that records with clear notes and no mud (it's not an issue of finger style or technique; I recorded someone else's Rickenbacker and it sounded excellent recorded direct).

So... if you had a $700 budget, what bass would you purchase for recording indie/alt country music with mellow, non-aggresive tones?
  2. christle

christle Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    My Hwy 1 Jazz records really well. Warm and articulate.
  3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I would buy a used late 90's Fender MIA Jazz Bass. Oh yeah, I forgot...I already did! They're not old enough to be collector's items so the price is still reasonable, and 1998 was a wonderful year for Fender. Some of their best basses ever were made in 1998.
  4. Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    For $700?

Lakland Skyline 55-01 if you're into 5 strings, 44-01 if you're a 4 string guy. Can be had for $700 new, and less used. Great instruments all around; I'd snatch one up if I had the means.
  5. lowphatbass

lowphatbass ****

Feb 25, 2005
    west coast
    Yea, a Fender J or even a P should do the trick. Getting a bass to track well is an excercise in "tricky simplicity". With the exception of Vocals on no other instrument will so much of the performer come through on the recording, IMO.
  6. Joe Beets

Joe Beets Guest

Nov 21, 2004
    Only one way to go here: Ibanez SRX705!!!
  7. christle

christle Supporting Member

Jan 26, 2002
    Winnipeg, MB
    I have always wanted to play one of those. You just don't see them up here. :eyebrow:
  8. nuemes

Jun 9, 2005