1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Best basses for Jamiroquai style and lots of octave/synth effects?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Omniant, Mar 16, 2010.

1. Omniant

Omniant

Dec 20, 2007
    I play in an electronica band and am looking for a new bass. My dry tone I would like to be remnant of Stuart Zender of Jamiroquai or Dan Kurtz of The New Deal (fast, in the pocket finger funk, lots of ghost notes). I also mess with a decent amount of effects (octave + low pass filter sweep type stuff) and other various things which I want to be reproduced as well as possible.

I've been playing an active corvette proline for the past several years and I think i've forgotten what a passive bass even sounds, so I'm definitely open to suggestions for both active and passive.

I'll probably go the used route as I'll be able to save a bit of money, but I don't mind spending as much as $1500.

2. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya Supporting Member

Jan 13, 2008
    Best bass would be a Warwick Streamer Stage 1 for his live sound. However, he did record with a number of basses in the studio which included MusicMan, Fender, and a few others. In all honesty he just played whatever sounded best for a track.

3. Omniant

Omniant

Dec 20, 2007
    Yea...the streamer stage is very nice. Seems like they're hard to find though and expensive, unless i'm mistaken

4. GeneralElectric

GeneralElectric

Dec 26, 2007
    NY, NY
    P-bass.

5. grifff

grifff

Jan 5, 2009
    Towson, Maryland
    You could probably find a used Streamer for under $1500, that would be my first choice.

6. RONQUITO

RONQUITO

Dec 27, 2007
    ^ This!

7. RONQUITO

RONQUITO

Dec 27, 2007
    I meant this ^

8. throbgod13

throbgod13

Mar 26, 2005
    Texas
    a Jazz Bass..