1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Best Budget 100W Combo?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by tomska, Oct 25, 2006.

1. tomska

tomska

Oct 25, 2006
    Hi all,

I'm just starting out and I've no idea how to decide which basic combo is best for me. Ashdown, Roland, Hartke & others all do reasonable-looking 100W combos at under £300 (GBP). The Roland looks pretty solid. Fender do one too, but I'm wary of gimmicks like the red light.

I'd like some guidance on choosing the right one. It'll be for practice only, and once I'm up to speed I'll be playing reggae, dub and old funk basslines, so fatness is important.

Thanks.

2. I think you would be better getting an amp and cab setup to be honest.

There are a few good cabs you can get second hand for under £100, and you can pickup an alright amp head for not too much (second hand)

Example - Peavey SessionBass (200 watt at 4ohms), these tend to go for about £100ish, that into a Peavey 210TX cabinet, which go for between £50 and £100 (one finished the other day for £51), so you'd have a 200 watt 2x10 setup for probably under £200.

You can always go with a bigger cab or a more powerful amplifier too, definatly watch the second hand market :)

However, if you want something that would be just for bedroom practice, i recently got my gf an Ashdown After Eight combo, 15 watts and an 8inch speaker, its definatly loud enough for bedroom practice, and they are only about £60ish new.

3. iv als ohad good experience with this one
    http://www.thomann.de/gb/warwick_sweet_152.htm

but if it is just for bdroom practic a nice lil 15watt will b enough to make the mother/wife (depending on old you are) scream at you to turn it down :)

4. tomska

tomska

Oct 25, 2006