1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

best budget bass for beginner to intermediate bassist?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ssie08, Feb 4, 2015.

1. ssie08

ssie08

Feb 4, 2015
    Hi there. I have been playing bass on and off for a while and just recently decided to knuckle down and start playing much more often. I would say I'm not a beginner, but nowhere near good. For the past year I have been playing a beaten up Stagg MB300 that I bought secondhand for pretty cheap. It was fine to practice on and get used to playing bass, but now I'd like something a little nicer, that sounds better. Basically, I'm in the market for a new bass. Unfortunately I am absolutely skint so I'm looking for something around the £160-£220 price range. Ideally it'd be around or just under 200 pounds. I don't need something amazing that I could gig with - I'm nowhere near that good - just something that sounds good, would sound good playing with other people if I want to play/practice in groups, and that I won't outgrow as soon as I move onto the next level.
    Another thing that is quite important to me is that it's comfortable to play. I am 5'1" and about 100lbs, and my Stagg bass is HUGE and VERY heavy. When I tried my teacher's Epiphone TBird, though, I was shocked by how light and comfortable it was. I'd really like a bass that felt more like this. Nonetheless, here are the basses I have got as choices so far, and I was wondering if you could please let me know what you think, what you'd choose, etc.

Fender Squier affinity series P Bass - this one was considered but I read on this forum that they sound awful so this is an unlikely option for me.
    Epiphone Goth T Bird - only really an option because it was the only T Bird within my price range and I loved the way my teacher's felt and sounded