1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Best cheap fretless to learn on??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by stevecool_skint, Apr 21, 2006.

1. I have been playing now for about 3 years and I own a Thunderbird IV and a Fender Jazz but the time has come that I would really like the chance to learn some fretless work. I know that it gives a smooth and beautiful sound but I also hear that it improves your regular playing too.

I have a limited budget and wondered what you guys and girls thought about 'Stagg' 'Yamaha' and some of the Precision and Jazz Fretless copies - just to learn on!!!!!!

2. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Yamaha fretless are great, I had a BB404F that I JUST sold. Awesome bass.

MIM Standard Jazz fretlesses are nice too. Had one of those. Loved it.

May want to check out SX basses from rondomusic.com not much to spend on something you're just trying out.

3. cpach

cpach

Feb 28, 2006
    Santa Cruz, CA
    I have a Yamaha BB404F that's fantastic. They're unfortuantely out of production now, but if you can find one, they're really very nice. Yamahas in general are quality instruments.

The Rondomusic option seems good. I'd go for the Jazz copy, but then again, I like Jaco.

MIM Jazz fretlesses are pretty good, but I personally liked by BB404F better at a lower price.

And definately get a fretless! Such a wonderful voice.

4. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I'd get any bass I could get a good deal on. The type of bass is immaterial, quite honestly. Just get one that's decent. Fender, yamaha, whatever.

5. I went through the same process about 15 months ago.