1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Best cheating Double bass studio sound

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kas_lar, Oct 23, 2009.

1. kas_lar

kas_lar

Jan 12, 2005
    Denmark
    Hi Everybody.
    I'm a pro bassplayer/ composer in logic 9 looking for the best upright sound for studio work (within a budget)

What do you guys advice me to look for? I've got a P bass and Jazzbass and a Stingray, but these doesn't come close to the full sound of a DB. Logic has a so and so Upright bass sound which is okay, but I'm missing the feeling and touch on the midi keyboard.

Some has told me to look into the AZola basses, should I?

Remember only the sound/bassplaying touch is important, Looks is not important...

Best regards
    Kasper

2. Basdyret

Basdyret A Dane in China

Aug 6, 2007
    Qingdao, China
    Rob Allen Mouse - that's the only bass I've heard that comes seriously close. You can find a video of Dan Rasmussen playing one on Youtube, if memory serves me correctly, it gives a good idea of the sound.

3. GM60466

GM60466

May 20, 2006
    Land of Lakland
  4. Darkstrike

Darkstrike Return Of The King!

Sep 14, 2007
    This, and this alone, IMHO.

5. The Ashbory has a great sound, but I've found them to be a royal pain to play because the lines are confusing because the string is being bent past pitch by the time you bring the string to the fingerboard. My local shop stopped carrying them long ago because it was costing more to keep them strung than they were making in profit.

The Rob Allen Mouse 30 is great, although I've recently found that an MB2 with an active 2 band does a slightly better job. My Mouse 30 doesn't have the 2 band EQ, but it might be enhanced slightly in theory.

6. Jjango

Jjango

Nov 16, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA