1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, remove most ads and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Best Compressor Pedal

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bezo420, Feb 28, 2013.

1. bezo420

bezo420

Aug 28, 2011
    Mentor
    I haven't posted here much, but I've posted elsewhere. I figure this is the place for me, considering I am a bassist.

What is the best compressor pedal for a bass? I am using a Pigtronix Philosopher's Tone, but I don't feel it is doing the job. I got it for guitar, and it works great for guitar, but I need something for my bass board. What do you guys recommend?

2. scottfeldstein

scottfeldstein Supporting Member

Jun 20, 2011
    West Bend, Wisconsin
    Teijo K., Stevorebob, SteveCS and 2 others like this.
  3. bluewine

bluewine Banned

Sep 4, 2008
    WI
    EBS

Blue

4. enricogaletta

enricogaletta

May 21, 2011
    There are three pedals very interesting as compressor pedals, the Aguilar TLC, the MXR white one and the Punch Factory.
    Both are nice especially range quality price.
    Cheers. Enrico

5. johnk_10

johnk_10 vintage bass nut Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 16, 2008
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    John K Custom Basses
    out of the fourteen different compressor pedals that I currently own, my favorite is the Keeley 4 knob.

6. slobake

slobake resident ... something Supporting Member

I recently played a Blackfinger that had a real nice tone. I hear the Whitefinger compressors are nice too.

7. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    I loved my Opto Compulator for a long time, it's a great & simple comp.

If I were buying a new one, it would be the Empress Compressor.

8. bassjam

bassjam

Aug 2, 2004
    dfw
    Lakland Basses,Genz Benz
    +1 to the Empress-it is a fantastic compressor.

9. Gord_oh

Gord_oh If it ain't broke, break it then fix it. Supporting Member