Best drum video for our drummer?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Transverz, May 9, 2005.

1. Transverz

Transverz believer of the Low End Theory

May 3, 2004
    Los Angeles, CA
    Any good drum videos for a novice-okay drummer?

Our drummer has progressed through his beginner and novice stages very quickly. He is self taught, so he's been able to play and create stuff for our songs and I think he's okay.

But lately, he needs to get past this certain level of skill. I don't think he really learned a certain "style" of play which I think holds him back and limits his abilities. Of course, "rock" drumming would be great for him to learn the foundations of, but then again, I guess that could be rooted in a whole lot of things right?

So any videos that are extra helpful yet good for someone who has already been playing but needs those essential skills to get better? He is thinking about getting "Musical Drumming in Different Styles" by Gregg Bissonette. Any reviews for that one?

Any help would be much appreciated...thanks!

2. Muzique Fann

Muzique Fann Howzit brah

Dec 8, 2003
    Kauai, HI
    Tim Alexander has a dvd out (if he's into Primus at all). Neal Peart has a 4 hour dvd or something crazy. Terry Bozio kills everybody and has some cool vids out there too. You guys should split the Drummers Collective/Bass Day dvd thing...
  3. I-Love-Ratm

Feb 24, 2003
    Carter Beauford has a DVD out andd he's an amazing drummer
  4. JPJ

Apr 21, 2001
    Chicago, IL
    Just buy him the Led Zeppelin DVD and strap him to a chair in front of the TV for several hours. That'll fix 'em! :smug:
  5. JPJ

Apr 21, 2001
    Chicago, IL
    ....or, you could always get him a copy of "The Kids Are Alright". ;)
  6. purfektstranger

Apr 10, 2003