Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best fretless for $400 new

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by savethegibbons, Oct 2, 2004.

1. savethegibbons

savethegibbons

Nov 29, 2003
    I'm in the market for a fretless (which will also be my first bass). What models would be recommended at a similar price to the Fender mexican J? I'm not concerned much about brand, I'm looking for a bargain :).

2. Dincrest

Dincrest

Sep 27, 2004
    New Jersey
    One of my friends has a Yamaha RBX270 fretless 4-string that he quite enjoys playing. Perhaps that's a good choice for an affordable fretless. I have no experience with that bass or with fretless, but my experience with Yamaha's basses in general has been positive.

3. Anti_Wish

Anti_Wish

May 14, 2004
    Boston, Ma
    if i were you which i am not but if i was then i would choose a fretted bass as my starter bass because it is easier to learn the fundamentals on. but if i were you then you would be me and you would probably get a fretless and then i who would be me subconciously would have learned on a fretless and might not be the same player anymore, and while were you you would be you sub-conciously and would know how to play bass because i would be you and i already know how to play bass. but if i were you then i would be the one posting asking the question and you would not be you sub-conciously you would be me which is not you but is me and i would still be starting to learn the bass. you dig?

4. savethegibbons

savethegibbons

Nov 29, 2003
    Whoah, heavy. :eek: Anyway, I'm not a total newbie at bass. I have played a friends fretted bass quite a few times when it has been left over at my house, and have also played guitar for 4 years. I really dig the sound of a fretless bass, and have wanted to start playing one for quite a while now.

5. Anti_Wish

Anti_Wish

May 14, 2004
    Boston, Ma