1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

best fun effect

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by chickenJames, Oct 19, 2013.

1. so. I'm a pedalboard beginner, just kitting out a basic board.
    I play a Spector 5, clean funk/pop, no slapping, no distortion (yet...).

Currently I reckon I have the basics covered:
    PT mini -> Ashdown BEF -> MXR bass comp -> Boss BEQ graphic

This covers pretty much everything I ever thought I'd need, and now I'm looking to have some fun. So - what do you recommend?
    I fancy trying something that would be fun for practice and would only need to be justified by a 10 second airing in a gig. What would you do?
    octaver? crazy reverb/tremolo (e.g. EHX holy stain/holy grail plus, TC reverb)
    TC nova chorus thing
    MXT chorus?

I've never really got the idea of using distortion on bass - would someone like to explain how it fits into a mix?

discuss....

thanks !

2. Thrillhouse

Thrillhouse Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2009
    Chicago, IL
    A good envelope filter or wah type effect can give you a lot of bang for the buck if you're looking just to make some funky/fun sounds.

As far as distortion goes, I tend to use OD a lot more. My OD pedal (Fuzzrocious Dark Driving) is always on and I use my bass volume to adjust the gain on the fly but mostly I have it set to just give a little crunch/bite to my attack.

I tend to use distortion when I'm playing a song in which the original bass line is distorted or when I'm jamming out/soloing for extended periods to help me cut through that much more.

3. Bitcrushers are fun, So are octavers and other pitch shifty effects. Ringmods with expression control of the sweep are fun. If you got a zoom B3 you could have a lot of fun with the looper alone. Just a thought.

4. Baird6869

Baird6869 RIP Gord Downey. A True Canadian Icon.