1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Best head for $1000

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by hetsscaryguy, Dec 21, 2004.

1. hetsscaryguy

hetsscaryguy

May 22, 2004
    Ireland
    ok, im a student and will be buying a head at the end of the college year. going by my budget for the next 5 months i should have enough money saved to get a head for about $1000. this does not mean it has to be $1000 it can be under that but not mch over it. the cabs it will be paired with are a avatar 1x15 and an avatar 2x12. so what good heads are there for $1000. id love a tube head, i was thining maybe a traynor YBA200. but i want a good quality head that will last me a good few years. i play mostly rock and metal anything from green day to metallica via the doors and thin lizzy. i play a olp spector but that will probably get a new friend in the shape of a geddy lee fender, a mike dirnt fender or a highway 1 fender. so what to you guys think? what should i get? i like a very rounded sound for clean but also play with distortion and wah and for that i like a nice balance of highs and lows.

2. Best Head for a Grand. . . .

Eden WT 550

Or perhaps a Mesa M Pulse or Big Block (not sure on price)

or even an Ashdown ABM 500.

(I was really tempted to make this thread into a riddle which mocked the actual expendatures us guys go through to make the girls happy, but that would be innappropriate. I'll save that for a song title.)

3. ASHDOWN ABM500 EVO 11 best amp you will ever need, blew my Ampeg stuff far away.

4. Mmmm . . .
    Can you still find a vintage SVT around for that. That would rock the house, and you're young, you could probably lift it without throwing your back out :)

5. chunky

chunky

Nov 3, 2004
    Portland Oregon