Best head for $1000

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by hetsscaryguy, Dec 21, 2004.

1. hetsscaryguy

May 22, 2004
    ok, im a student and will be buying a head at the end of the college year. going by my budget for the next 5 months i should have enough money saved to get a head for about $1000. this does not mean it has to be $1000 it can be under that but not mch over it. the cabs it will be paired with are a avatar 1x15 and an avatar 2x12. so what good heads are there for $1000. id love a tube head, i was thining maybe a traynor YBA200. but i want a good quality head that will last me a good few years. i play mostly rock and metal anything from green day to metallica via the doors and thin lizzy. i play a olp spector but that will probably get a new friend in the shape of a geddy lee fender, a mike dirnt fender or a highway 1 fender. so what to you guys think? what should i get? i like a very rounded sound for clean but also play with distortion and wah and for that i like a nice balance of highs and lows.
  2. Best Head for a Grand. . . .

Eden WT 550

Or perhaps a Mesa M Pulse or Big Block (not sure on price)

or even an Ashdown ABM 500.

(I was really tempted to make this thread into a riddle which mocked the actual expendatures us guys go through to make the girls happy, but that would be innappropriate. I'll save that for a song title.)
  3. ASHDOWN ABM500 EVO 11 best amp you will ever need, blew my Ampeg stuff far away.
  4. Mmmm . . .
    Can you still find a vintage SVT around for that. That would rock the house, and you're young, you could probably lift it without throwing your back out :)
  5. chunky

Nov 3, 2004
    Portland Oregon
    In this range, there isn't a best. It will be a matter of your personal taste. I spent a little over a grand for my Bassman 300, but surely there are folks who don't envy my purchase.
  6. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004