Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best Looping Station?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by grungtertl, Aug 1, 2005.

1. grungtertl

grungtertl

Aug 2, 2004
    Im looking for a looper. I want one that can do things like Keller Williams. I want to be able to record fairly long loops, and have them play over and over again. Also i would like to do layers of different loops at the same time. Price isnt a problem, i just want the best quality looper out there. Any help would be great... im a rookie to looping.

2. Jmann

Jmann

Apr 29, 2003
    Lexington, Ky
    I think Keller uses a Lexicon Jam Man.

3. if you ask me, the best looper is either the echoplex or the boomerang.

and yes, keller williams uses a jam man.

4. I am using BOSS Loop Station. Working fine for me.

5. Kelly Coyle

Kelly Coyle Supporting Member

Nov 16, 2004
    Mankato, MN
    Echoplex Digital Pro, beyond a doubt. However, you may not need all of what it does. Check it out (and all the other ones) at Looper's Delight. Digitech has just released something called "JamMan": not to be confused with the original Lexicon model. It looks interesting. Also, Electrix is preparing to reintroduce the Repeater which used to be the only serious competition for the Echoplex.

Here's my order of preference for current loopers (I keep up with this!). I haven't tried them all (I have actually owned the EDP, Boomerang, Lexicon Jamman, DL4, and D-Two); I'm basing it on feature lists and Looper's Delight discussions.

Echoplex Digital Pro/Electrix Repeater
    Boomerang
    Lexicon Jamman
    Boss DD-20
    Digitech Jamman
    Boss RC-20
    Line6 DL4

You can also loop with Kyma (multiple thousand of dollars), Eventide Orville ($3K), TC Electronic's D-Two (nice delay, too). There's several good software loopers: Live (of course), LiSA, Augustus Loop, G (used by Vernon Reid), the newest version of Logic...