1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Best new school funk, period!

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by JHL, May 2, 2006.

1. JHL

JHL

Apr 8, 2005
    London, England
    Just thought I'd tip all you funk lovers off to a man called Andy P.

www.andyp.se <- click Music then the song Hey Baby from the One Day album and simply enjoy.

2. mactac

mactac Supporting Member

Nov 28, 2005
    Victoria, BC, Canada
    i dunno... i listened to that song & the rest of his songs.

sounds like Pop music to me, not funk. The drums are pop drums (they sure as heck are not funk drums) & are a drum machine, the vocals are pop vocals, and I think that bass is actually a synth.

Now, I have nothing agaist synths etc (I've been an electronic music producer for a long time) but....I love funk, and to me...that aint it.

3. JHL

JHL

Apr 8, 2005
    London, England
    Ok ok, I should have realised that if you say music is within a specific genre people will focus on that. How about this then: Some of the best music I personally have heard (Iin my very very very very humble opinion).

4. Nami

Nami

Oct 14, 2005
    Israel
    It's nice... but something's missing there.. maybe i'll just have to listen to more of that =]

5. mactac

mactac Supporting Member

Nov 28, 2005
    Victoria, BC, Canada
    i guess it all just shows that it's very much a matter of personal taste. i actually didn't really like it... to me it was uninspired & derivitive of pretty standard pop cliches

i'm not saying that i could do any better, but i was expecting a lot based on "best new school funk (or anything) period"

6. adisu

adisu I admit it, I'm a "user"

Apr 8, 2005
    Israel
    Hi guys.
    This guy's music is nice but it's really sound more Pop with funk influences than real pure funk music.