Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best place to buy Modulus?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GrandMarkie, Feb 7, 2004.

1. GrandMarkie

GrandMarkie

Feb 7, 2004
    Waltham, MA
    I'm relatively new to Modulus, but I have been researching and looking to buy (of course NOW they raise their prices) So far i've found some Quantum 5's for around $2,300. I'm looking for one w/ Bart. pickups and the case included. Any suggestions to websites? Thanks

2. Stingray4Christ

Stingray4Christ

Jan 28, 2003
    NY
  3. GrandMarkie

GrandMarkie

Feb 7, 2004
    Waltham, MA
    basscentral was quoted at 2,600 :spit:

theperfectbass.com were listed at 2,249 (best i've found for brand new Q5) but very limited selection.

Thank you for your inputs, guys. More would be appreciated though :)

4. David Wilson

David Wilson Administrator Staff Member Administrator Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Lower Westchester, NY
    Did you call them, or was that a price from the website? You'll get the best price by calling them, and I've always found them to be extremely price competitive

5. Sean Baumann

Sean Baumann Supporting Member

Apr 6, 2000
    Livin' in the USA
    Tell bass central what you got quoted from the other site, they'll match it.

I'd suggest you check out the used market as well. You could probably pick up an excellent/mint Q5 for around $1400 right now. Keep the EMG version in mind, they are really pretty similar.

BTW, nice choice in basses :)

6. Speedbird

Speedbird Supporting Member

Jul 10, 2000
    Northern Virginia
    ~spring 2000 I called EVERY Modulus dealer in the US looking for a certain model. No one had it in stock, but most of them offered to order one for me. The best deal I got, and very nice service was from Guitar Villa in PA. I think they have a site, but they allways have an a in the back of BP.

7. Zemaitis

Zemaitis

Jan 7, 2004