Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best Practice Amp for the home?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by WATCHTHECHORD, Oct 30, 2003.

1. WATCHTHECHORD

WATCHTHECHORD

Oct 28, 2003
    NewYork
    What is the best practice AMP for the home for 300 bucks or so, i am a newbie so i dont need anything crazy, also do i need a head for a practice amp..thanks in advance....!

2. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I'm happy with my Tech21 Landmark 60:
    [​IMG]

Another small combo that's impressed me is Fender's Bassman 25:
    [​IMG]
    I'm personally fond of kickback designs like these...

3. xyllion

xyllion Commercial User

Jan 14, 2003
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Owner, Looperlative Audio Products
    I've had the opportunity to practice through one of those Tech 21 Landmark 60 amps. I was impressed with the sound. I would have to agree with HeavyDuty on his suggestion.

4. WATCHTHECHORD

WATCHTHECHORD

Oct 28, 2003
    NewYork
    What about the Fender bassman 60, would that be ok....i have seen it for 389...wiliing to go up a few bucks for a practice AMP....this site is unreal so damn helpful.....looking foward to my christmas gift....a nice Warwick...or Fender...some where in the thousand dollar range and an AMP...im a beginner cant you tell how excited i am...!

5. Hi,

my advice is to get yourself an acoustic bass guitar.

There are many advantages to having an acoustic. The first is that you can practice at low volume (even practice amps have been known to annoy family members). But more importantly, an acoustic bass standing in the corner of the room just invites you to pick it up and practice - you walk in your room, pick the bass up from the stand, practice your scales, etc. then put it down when the door rings.