1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Best preamp neeeed!!!

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Shizo, Dec 22, 2016.

1. Shizo

Shizo

Dec 22, 2016
    Europe
    Hello guys,
    I am new to TB and new to ERB's. I have recently received my Epiphone Expert 6 with EMG soapbars. It has regular, LesPaul'ish knobs function and I am considering swapping it for an active preamp. It has 4 knobs and I don't want any drilling. It already has 18v wiring, so good to me.
    Could you advise me some good preamps? I am NOT really into that hyped "transparency" or clarity. I love the sound of original Spector HAZ preamps and early Foderas with EMG+HAZ (which to me sounded a bit Spector'ish ;) )
    What I like is big power, tons of gain(don't confuse it with any overdrive or so - gain means to me harmonic content and I would love that preamp to both pump tons of gain like HAZ but with that clearly big harmonic content)
    I would also love to have big flexibility and usefulness of sounds in real world mix and playing with band - I am totally not into solo playing.
    It might not by any transparent and it may alter the tone of my bass totally - so I am easy with that.
    Hope to find good help here ;)

Ellery likes this.
  2. Shizo

Shizo

Dec 22, 2016
    Europe
    Anybody anything?..

3. Ellery

Ellery

Mar 25, 2015
    Just so happens I just got my hands on a Spector Forte with a Darkglass Tone Capsule preamp in it. This thing is tremendous! With the bass knob I can clip my amp like crazy, it's as powerful as a pedal. And it oozes with tone. This unit is 3-band and the bass was designed for a 2, so at the factory they used a stacked knob. I've had this bass for maybe 2 weeks now and I'm already considering putting a Tone Capsule in one of my old basses.

4. SleazyB

SleazyB

Sep 25, 2016
    Frankfurt a.M.
    +1 for the Darkglass

5. Shizo