Best rackmountable preamp for direct out post-EQ

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Tunaman, Jun 20, 2005.

1. Tunaman

Dec 26, 2004
    Thats a lot to say
    Best rackmountable preamp for post-EQ direct out!
    There are a lot of bad post EQ signals for direct out and this is BY FAR the most important piece of my rig when playing a decent venue.
    The Navigator rules but I'm now going to use that solely to power my rig. The EQ to my rig isn't good for the house P.A. My post EQ on my GK 1001RB is awful.
    I was considering the Alembic FX-1, Demeter HBP-1 or the Sansamp RBI...
  2. I think the RBI has one of the most useful post EQ DI sounds available. But...the blend knob needs to be used conservatively. I generally ran my blend at about 30% wet and the sound was full, rich, and large. The EQ was still fully functional and I always seemed to have a great DI signal to the house.

*disclaimer: I have no experience with the Alembic or Demeter unit.
  3. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    out of those i've used (aguilar 659, alembic, demeter 201, eden, swr) I'd say the alembic has the "best" post eq di sound. this is mostly due to the fender tone stack on the alembic which adds a lot of "mojo" to the alembic tone.

as far as pre eq, the demeter is the clear winner. the jensen transformer di is a thing of beauty.
  4. 2nd on the Sansamp. Add the Ampeg SVP-CL to the other fine pres mentioned above.
  5. Lonnybass

Jul 19, 2000
    Minneapolis by way of Chicago
    Endorsing Artist: Pedulla Basses
    One thing to remember about the Alembic- in post-EQ mode, the DI signal is blazingly hot. You'll have to work with the engineers to find a comfortable gain level, then adjust your stage volume using your power amp.