Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best Rock Keyboardist Ever

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by kcdbass, Apr 7, 2002.

1. kcdbass

kcdbass

Feb 27, 2002
    New Jersey
    Former Sales/Web, Sadowsky Guitars
    i've been listening to rock music since the early '70's ... the first song i ever got turned on to was, "it never rains in southern california" by albert hammond ... that should date me!!!

anyway, for my money ... the far-and-away, all-time best rock keyboardist has got to be ...

TONY BANKS from genesis.

i always thought keith emerson was just "too much." and being a bassist, i am a huge chris squire fan ... but again, wakeman seemed too "grandiose" at times. john paul jones wasn't bad ... but it was his second instrument, maybe. and he was sorta jamming, i think ... not really writing parts that would serve as hooks for the songs to build on.

for my ears, BANKS is meat-n-potatoes, he has a "pocket" to his playing ... his sound choices are impeccable and always interesting ... always seems to add just exactly what the song needs without being "too artsy." serious musical theory going on there ...

hey man ... anybody know how i can get in touch with him to have him play in my band??? :)

what does everybody else think?

2. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Rick Wakeman from Yes. I do like Tony Banks also, but Wakeman was so flashy in the true rock and roll spirit.

3. jasonbraatz

jasonbraatz

Oct 18, 2000
    Oakland, CA
    Jon Lord - Deep Purple
    John Medeski - MMW (not really rock i know, but he definitely ROCKS)
    Jordan Rudess - Dream Theater
    Adam Braatz - Bon Pantalon (my younger brother, an absolute bad-mutha)

4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Steve Winwood

5. Richard Wright, John Lord.

6. Charlie Clouser!!!!!!!! All the way.

7. Gard

Gard Commercial User