Best Scales for Jazz

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by elvinstheman, Jun 22, 2005.

1. elvinstheman

Jun 16, 2005
    Seattle, USA
    I'm a DB newbie and have been working on major scales quite a bit. But I want to do a really basic jazz jam with some friends, so what are the best scales practice for jazz/be bop? I'm guessing most of the uptempo be bop tunes are in major keys, but what scales are most of the walking bass lines based on? Regular major sacles? Pentatonic blues scales?
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Bebop used all kinds of scales - in fact there is a scale with an extra note which is often called the "Bebop scale" - Thelonius Monk was noted for using the whole tone scale.... etc. etc.

Well I'm sure somebody like Ed will explain ..... but there are threads about constructing walking bass lines - Chris F has posted a sort of tutorial around here - look for the Newbie Links! :)
  3. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Bass lines often are pretty thick with root scales (scale from where the chord comes) and neighboring tones / chromatics.
  4. Hawkeye

Hawkeye Canuck Amateur

The Myxlodian scale seems to work well for a lot of jazz / blues walking bass lines.
  5. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    Chromatic? I dunno, I try to play music, not scales....
  6. This is critical to the proper approach. I think of scales as existing in music as a sort of after thought analysis. The music has to exist first.

If you are just talking about straight exercise, practice every scale you've ever heard. You'll end up drawing them together.
  7. larry

larry Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2004
    My $.02...

Any jazz book will tell you about what scales to learn. Understand major & minor scale harmony, blues scales, bebop, diminished, whole-tone, etc...You'll need them all.