Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

BEst Small Amp for Acoustic Bass???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SkyChaney, Jul 31, 2005.

1. SkyChaney

SkyChaney

Jul 31, 2005
    [/FONT]:bassist: I'm new to bass playing. Just purchased a Dean Performer acoustic bass. I plan to play with a folk group that is mainly all-acoustic... so don't need much volume. What small amp would give me the best low volume sound? I'm considering a SWR LA8 or LA10... or perhaps a Roland Cube 30. Does anyone have experience with these? Thank you much for any experience you can share!

2. Nedmundo

Nedmundo Supporting Member

Jan 7, 2005
    Philadelphia
    I think a Carvin PB100-10 would suit you quite well. It's light, has excellent tone, and is reasonably priced. I think it's much better than the inexpensive SWR models. It has a nice, warm tone that would work well with an acoustic bass. It sounds great with my semi-hollow. The Roland Cube 100 is better, but costs a bit more.

3. Jack

Jack

Sep 6, 2003
    Newcastle, UK
    Tyr to stay away from really small practice combo's. The combination of low power, small speakers and lack of features will cripple your sound and frustrate you in endless ways on a gig.

Go and look at Ashdown's Electric Blue combos, even if you dont like those actual amps, the specs are in the right ball park, so check out similar amps from other people!.

HTH, Jack.

4. Jack

Jack

Sep 6, 2003
    Newcastle, UK
    In response to a PM:

I would say 'small' speakers are anything below a 10", but If you could manage a 12" or even a 15" it would project much better and have more low-end.

Also, to be heard over two acoustic guitars I would suggest at least 50W, 100W would be much better. I know that sounds a lot, but lower frequencies need more power to make them the same volume as higher frequencies (really simplified version :D).