Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best Strings and Pick for deep sound

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by peterock1025, Feb 14, 2005.

1. peterock1025

peterock1025

Jul 13, 2004
    Boston
    I am a guitarist-turned-bassist. I am having trouble deciding which strings / pick combination sounds best for that deep and full finger-plucked sound. I play an ernie ball 4 string musicman stingray into an ampeg svt-4 pro.... I am very comfortable playing with a pick so I would like to continue to play bass with one..........any advice would be greatly appreciated.

pb

2. sal paradise

sal paradise

Aug 12, 2004
    NJ
    atleast a heavy pick, and play up close to the neck for a finger sound.

3. NoisemakerD-Lux

NoisemakerD-Lux

Oct 12, 2004
    If you want finger sound from a pick, try these:

http://www.steveclayton.com/acetal.html

They feel and sound like "rubber", but are stiff enough to give you good control. They won't slip out of your fingers. I like the 1.26 gauge. Great picks!

4. Dude

Dude Commercial User

Mar 19, 2000
    AZ
    Owner: The Dude Pit Forum (closed) Producer: School of Bass
    My choice of a string with a Stingray with your desired tone would be Rotosound Steve Harris Monel Flatwounds (.050-.110) and one of Carol Kaye's thick picks. (something insane like 1.44mm's).

You'll get all you can handle and then some with that setup.

5. Dude

Dude Commercial User

Mar 19, 2000
    AZ
    Damn dude...now you've got me sitting here at 3:49 am thinking of how I don't have a Stringray. :spit:

LA Smoker likes this.
  6. FunkySpoo

FunkySpoo Supporting Member

Feb 6, 2002
  7. 6-3-2

6-3-2

Sep 20, 2003
    Even though I'm a fan of pick playing, you're gonna have to learn finger style eventually.

8. Try those triangular Dunlop Tortex pick....i like the yellow one(0.77) .

9. iamthebassman

iamthebassman

Feb 24, 2004
    Austin,Texas