Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

best strings for bluegrass/old-tyme music

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by jason L, Apr 20, 2004.

1. jason L

jason L

Apr 20, 2004
    denver co
    I am currently playing a 41 Kay and would like some input on what strings would sound best for old-tyme and bluegrass.
    Gut strings would have a traditional sound but do not know if they are worth the price and from what I understand fluctuations. I must keep in mind that I play a lot of outdoor gigs. Any suggestions?

2. I have been playing Kay basses for almost 50 years. They came with gut strings and that is the sound I know and love. Playing out doors is a problem for gut as moisture is bad for them. Need to keep them "oiled" with tung oil, meneral oil or olive oil. After a night under the trees or stars be sure to wipe them down good after playing. I now use a combo of gut G and D and steel A and E. Tuning is not too bad with this combo. I am a bluegrass player. :hyper:

3. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    Gut is THE bluegrass and old-time sound, especially for slapping.

You can get all four strings in plain gut which can be tough on tuning and maintenance, gut wrapped in metal (gut wrapped in silver is not recommended for slapping) or gut wrapped in nylon.

I use the Velvet Garbos which are gut wrapped in copper for the E, A and D and gut wrapped in nylon for the G. They slap well and have the gut tone but are livelier sounding and have more sustain than many all gut sets which you may or may not like; I enjoy the extra "zing" as it helps the bass cut through better. I use these for both my old-time/BG and blues gigs.

There are also "synthetic gut" sets which use nylon or other synthetic cores, like the Velvet Compas or Thomastik Dominant. These sets sound and feel a lot like gut but are much cheaper.