1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

best strings for downtuning?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by payforyoursins, Sep 9, 2008.

1. hi guys im new to the forum.
    ive joined because i need some personal opinions (as opposed to commercial opinions who just want my money) on what strings are best for my bass. I am relatively new to the bass, having played guitar before. I play in a metal band in drop c tuning. i find the strings i have now go too slinky in this tuning, what strings would you recomend for drop tuning. I play with an Ibanez SR300. Thanks in advance

PFYS

2. BELLATOR

BELLATOR

Sep 7, 2005
    Heavier gauge strings have more tension when downtuning compared to medium and light gauge strings. You might have to file the notches in the nut to accommodate heavier gauge strings though.

3. do a search through the forum. There are a ton of threads that touch on this topic. you can find exactly what you need.

4. It's not always true that thicker = more tension, I can't remember the full equation but there is more to it then that. Either way as a general rule of thumb thicker usually means tenser on a larger scale. But you do get some 100s that will be higher tension then 110s etc.

You say drop C though, you do mean C-A-D-G, not C standard (C-F-A#-D#)? Either way try a 5 string set, but don't use either the E if your doing drop C, or the G if your doing C standard.

5. BELLATOR

BELLATOR

Sep 7, 2005
    I was thinking as a general rule of thumb thicker usually means more tension.

6. Oh it is, was just been pedantic, thought it might be useful to know for people that didn't know too.

7. bonzo4880

bonzo4880

Sep 16, 2007
    Baltimore, MD