1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

best strings for fretless.. Help..

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by hurricaneatk, Oct 8, 2013.

1. hurricaneatk

hurricaneatk

Oct 8, 2013
    San Diego
    What you guys opinions ...remember I am new to this bass stuff.. trying to soak in everything possibly on this board thank you for the help ...

2. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Apr 1, 2004
    New York, NY
    No such thing as "best". There are only choices, each with its own benefits and detriments.

That said, to get a usable answer, you'll need to define your musical needs & applications, as there are many ways to approach the fretless.

MM

3. topo morto

topo morto

Mar 22, 2010
    Lloegyr
    Link us some videos of how you want to sound.

4. 4-string

4-string

Jul 23, 2006
    Norway
    Depends on many things, but if you prefer rounds like I do, and play a Fender J like I do, you might love DR Sunbeams. Just like I do. :)

Great strings for fretless IMO.

5. Tapes

Tapes

Tapes

I like Roto's, but regardless:

Tapes

Tapes

Tapes

6. tylerwylie

tylerwylie

Jan 5, 2008
    Dunwoody, GA
    I like R Cocco Nickel's and DR Black Beauties, light gauges.

7. I use Ken Smith Compressors or D'Addario Half Rounds. Almost as bright as round wounds, less wear on bass and fingers.

8. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    3234718 said it all. No reason to rehash THIS one...

John

9. Mojo-Man

Mojo-Man Supporting Member

Feb 11, 2003
    :cool:

Depending on what tone you want.
    I suggest any of these.

TI JF344 Flats
    GHS Black Tapewound
    Ken Smith Compressors
    DR Sunbeams.

I use all four for fretless, they all sound great.

10. Papersen

Papersen Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2002
    Add Thomastik Infeld flats to your list.