Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best upgrade

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by funkasaurus, Oct 24, 2002.

1. funkasaurus

funkasaurus

Apr 23, 2001
    Los Angeles
    Hey TBers,

I've been playing about 18 months now, so I guess I'm still relatively new to the bass. Loving it so far, just wish I had started earlier! Anyway I have a MIM Jazz that I've been thinking about upgrading. My question is pretty basic:

What upgrade will have the greatest effect on my bass' tone?

I've already changed my strings a couple of times. So besides that, what can I change? I am looking for a tighter, cleaner sound. Pickups? Bridge? Tuners? Install a preamp? Jump up and down like a monkey when I play?

I mostly play jazzy funk/funky jazz fingerstyle with a little slap thrown in, but I also like reggae, hip hop, blues, classic rock, soul, anything funky.

Thanks all.

2. Just my opinion, but the thing that would have the most impact on giving you a "tighter, cleaner sound" would be lessons with a great teacher. After that would be improving your practice habits. These will have more impact on your sound than ANY new bass or upgrade you could buy.

Maybe not as much fun as getting gear, of course!

Oh, and third is jumping around like a monkey, of course!

Good luck!

3. rickreyn

rickreyn

Jun 16, 2000
    Lutz, Florida
    Here's a fun idea along the above lines. It will help you practice and it is an upgrade. I use a Korg Tone Works Pandora's Box. It'll act as a preamp, give you a bunch of cool sounds, give you some rhythms, bass canceller, and phrase trainer to practice with, and tune you up. All for about $219.

4. funkasaurus

funkasaurus

Apr 23, 2001
    Los Angeles