1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Best way to fix my timing and plucking sound?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by 127.0.0.1, May 5, 2006.

1. 127.0.0.1

Feb 21, 2005
    Greetings. I'm quite new to the bass world (even though I registered on this forum quite a while ago, I did not play much bass, or any instruments on that matter, until lately)

My problem is twofold :
    I must admit I have terrible timing :meh: but I don't know how to improve my timing/groove short of playing along with tracks. Any ideas?

Also, I noticed that when I pluck using my middle finger it sounds different than when I pluck using my index finger. It is annoying to sound like da-di-da-di-da-di ~ how to fix this?
    :help: :help:

2. thumbzilla

thumbzilla

Apr 28, 2006
    Mentor, Ohio
    A metronome is the best way to learn to keep time. Can't argue with the metronome. Practice hard to keep with it, in a band the bass drum (or you!) is the metronome. The plucking problem sounds like you are striking with different forces, one finger stronger than the other. Work hard to make the force equal with each finger.

3. SBassman

SBassman

Jun 8, 2003
    Northeast, US
    1. Timing - log time with the drum machine. Every day. You can't get better time practicing as a weekend warrior. You have to do it every day, even if it's just 5 or 10 minutes, but every day. Alter the tempos. Start slow, move up to fast.
    All to the drum machine or metronome.

2. Uneven strokes - log hours and hours and hours doing nothing but alternating your strokes. It almost doesn't matter what you play with the left hand while doing it.