Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best way to learn melody/ improv?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by NicJimBass, Nov 10, 2005.

1. NicJimBass

NicJimBass Is this thing on!? Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2004
    Lancaster, OH
    Endorsing Artist: DR Strings, Source Audio, Hipshot
    I've some to the realization that I have no real sense of melody (i.e., writing melodies is extremely difficult) and my improv skills are sorely lacking. I think I've become the weak link in my band, and it's not a good place to be. I've tried learning my scales, and I've tried to learn to read music, but I think I have ADD (or I'm just extremely lazy... yeah, that's probably it) since I lose interest after about a day. Are there any good books/ videos that address either melody or improv? I've been playing for about 6-7 years, so I can get around a bass pretty well, just can't play as well as I should. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

2. The Clap

The Clap

Jan 5, 2004
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Can you sing melodies? If so, record them and play them on your bass with the same phrasing.

If you can't make the music happen in your head, it won't materialize on the bass; Improvisation definitely comes from within. I'd say that you should get a proper teacher, especially because you say you're lazy (something I can sympathize with). You'll progress much faster in the specifica areas you're interested in and learn a more well-rounded curriculum with the right instructor.

3. NicJimBass

Nov 22, 2004
    Lancaster, OH
    I understand that I have to make the melody in my head first, but that's what I'm having trouble with. I guess it doesn't come naturally, unfortunately. I want to learn though...

4. Kelly Coyle

Kelly Coyle Supporting Member

Nov 16, 2004
    Mankato, MN