Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Best way to slap??

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Dragon_of_kaos, Sep 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dragon_of_kaos

Dragon_of_kaos

Sep 18, 2003
    I am a beginning/moderate bassist, and I was wondering if anyone could help me with any ways to make slapping easier, for some reason I just can't pick it up???

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Take your thumb and slap it against a string.

that's about it. :p

3. mcmurphy

mcmurphy

Sep 24, 2003
    Australia
    Slap the side of your knuckle against the string on the last fret, using a pivot motion with your wrist.

Keep your thumb loose, like a bouncing ball. The moment you hit the string, bounce your thumb off the string, so you don't accidentally mute the note.

The problems that most beginning bass players have are:
    1. They try to get their thumbs to move independently. Use your wrist rather than your thumb to get enough speed when slapping the string.
    2. Their thumbs are too stiff. Make sure it is limp enough so that it instantly bounces back off the string.

Hope this helps. The most important thing is to practice. The callous that develops on your thumb knuckle eventually starts working as a hammer to get a crisper sound.

4. Dragon_of_kaos

Dragon_of_kaos

Sep 18, 2003
    Alright, thanks alot,
    I think my main problem was i was just kinda slapping it and not bouncing it back so I'll practice that. Any advice on popping, I know it may sound kinda pitiful, but is there a set position like what you said with the bouncing thumb??

5. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Hehehe...that's funny, we have totally different approaches.

I slap with a stiff(but relaxed) thumb, and I use my thumb more than my wrist.