1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Better Bass -> Better Skills?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by chaosMK, Apr 13, 2006.

1. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    I noticed that when I upgraded from the late 90's Ibanez SR-885 that I had been using for around 7 years to my Peavey Cirrus-5, my skills immediately took a little leap.

In a few days, I was doing stuff with my thumb (I like to use my thumb for fast/technical low-B metal rhythms) that I wasnt able to cleanly at all before, and my tapping was greatly facilitated. My aggressive fingerstyle lightened up a great deal too- I could play faster and more delicately at the same time.

I always felt like it was the skill you gain from years of dedication, and not the instrument. It just shocked me that the instrument truly made a difference.

Now all I need is a Modulus. =)

2. I think your skills improved because you were playing on a lesser quality instrument, not becuase you got a new one.

So many students I know want to jump into an electric guitar over an acoustic, an expensive bass over a cheap Squire, etc. I play a 35" scale fretted bass - when I switch to my 34 scale fretless, my intonation is right on!

I just played a week's worth of Godspell rehearsals and shows - most of it was on an acoustic guitar. When the electric guitar parts were necessary, I was all ready to roll.