1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Better bass guitar = better sound on a budget amp?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by metallion1996, Apr 22, 2015.

1. metallion1996

metallion1996

Apr 22, 2015
    I am a beginner and I have bought a gear4music bass guitar and amplifier. I know those bass guitars are not good. I am currently studying in the UK and I want to buy a bass for back home because I'm going back for summer holidays and also want to have for all the holidays (christmas, easter). The only thing I am taking back is my amplifier which is this one and I am going to buy this bass guitar. So my newbie question is, will I understand the difference in the sound on that amplifier, I mean will the quality of the sound increase with the new bass guitar?
    Thanks, Leo.

2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)
    Hard to say whether you'll notice a change in the sound or not with that amp. You probably will notice a difference in sound if the new bass has a different type or number of pickups than the old, but if they're both basically J basses, maybe not so much.

metallion1996 likes this.
  3. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Maybe. It's still a budget bass, though at least name-brand. You may hear a difference. A lot will depend on just how cheap your generic bass is (by which I mean construction and components, not price). It may well be worth the upgrade in bass just to have something that's better constructed, that holds a setup and tuning better and is more comfortable to play, apart from any difference in sound.

Dr. Cheese, metallion1996 and bholder like this.
  4. The Chuck

The Chuck

Dec 11, 2013
    Wilmington, NC