Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

better bass player vs. better overall musician???

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by georgestrings, Dec 4, 2005.

1. georgestrings

georgestrings Banned

Nov 5, 2005
    Let me give you a little background:

I was a guitarist in bands for better than 15 years before I started playing bass... I mainly switched over because a good friend was a much better guitarist than I was, and I wanted to raise the caliber of band I was playing in - so, I started playing bass... I found that although I was only an average guitarist, I quickly became one of the better bassists in my area - so I got offers to play in some of the better bands in the area... OK, fast forward:

Now, I've got better than 15 years experience as a bassist, but have continued to play guitar "on the side", and have improved my vocal capabilities, as well... I've also improved on my song writing abilities, but those seem to thrive the most when I'm getting atleast equal time with the guitar as well as bass... In my current band, I've obtained a very comfortable skill level with my bass, which has allowed me the time to play more guitar, and write more... In this same band, my guitarist is a very skilled player, but song writing isn't his strong point - sure, he can write some smokin' leads, and sometimes writes some riffs that either fit into one of my songs, or give me a basis to write something off of... I seem to have a better grasp of song structure, so I end up writing the majority of our melodies - and our singer comes up with the words...

Which brings things to the point I'm currently at: