Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Better cab for small club gigs?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassotus, Dec 3, 2002.

1. bassotus

bassotus

Nov 24, 2002
    Finland
    Hi all,

after browsing this forum for some time I'm still lost with all the different recommendations for amp/cab combination.

I've been playing gigs for several years now with a Trace Elliot AH300 (which I've always liked) through a beat-up Marshall 4x12 bass cab. This setup has been enough for most small gigs like weddings etc. since at most bigger clubs I've always used the house PA anyway. Last friday I found myself in a situation where we were playing a RHCP cover show at this small club where the PA system was used only for the drums and vocals (only a couple of the channels worked), so I had to really crank up the volume to balance levels with the guitar. I've never had to play that loud through the Marshall and it sounded *really* bad, bottom end was just this distorted boom without any definition.
    Now this is not a common situation, but since I've always considered the old Marshall as somewhat "lazy" sounding, I'm now looking for something with more sensitivity and good low end definition and punch even at higher volumes (aren't we all..)

I've got a little over $1000 to spend on it, so I'm now looking at 4x10's by EBS, Warwick (both of which I've tried at the shop), Hughes&Kettner, TE (which I would have to order blind from Germany) and perhaps even Peavey.. Eden and BagEnd are not as easily available to me.
    The problem is that I'll never be able to test the cab in a situation like described above; playing at high volume in a store doesn't quite give the right picture..