1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Better Ear

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by RickenTalker, Nov 25, 2010.

1. RickenTalker

RickenTalker

Nov 4, 2010
    I've been playing bass for two years and am eager to join a band. However the problem I have is that I'm terrible at trying to synchronize with other guitarists. Whats an easy way to get better at this? I know most of the basic theory behind how to write and play songs with guitarists, but I lack the ear. Would picking up acoustic guitar be a good way to get better at this?

2. Warfender

Warfender

Oct 25, 2009
    Not sure what you are asking but if it is the higher register compared to your lower register then try training to programs such as Band-in-a-box. If it is just general ear training, do the above and also transcribing is a great tool for learning to train your ear. Hope this helps.

3. By "synchronise" do you mean timing?

I'd recommend picking up a drum machine and a copy of Ed Friedland's book, Bass Grooves, and working through that. Practice with a metronome, drummers, other musicians, your drum machine as much as possible, and RECORD YOURSELF.

Also, a lot of beginning musicians try to play complex parts beyond their ability to play well, where they have the means to play a simple part in the pocket and do far more justice to the music. Don't be that guy.

If you don't mean timing, there's interval trainer, etc software / websites around which might help - as will all of the above, and playing along to recordings. Try putting your mp3 collection on shuffle, play along with it trying your best to play the simplest thing you can play in key, perfectly in time. Record yourself, listen back to it and make sure you're not kidding yourself. Once you can do that perfectly, you might make it more interesting for yourself and work on your improvisation, etc.