Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Beyond the six.....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by f'nar f'nar, Aug 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ok, I don't want for this to become an ERB bashing fest, this is just a question I need answered.

Alright, I'm all for ERB, I am an ER bassist myself. But I need to ask the 7 string and beyond players here one thing, allow me to give some background.

I was in a store the other day and i was greeted with some fine classical playing of an 9 string which was gorgeous! I believe it was a six tring with and extra high string and two exta lows. He was clearly checking out the new Ampeg frindge and SWR heads the store had got in. I was very impressed, untill he started playing the extra low notes. He was hanging around the low sections and I was amazed to see that had I need seen him playing I would have otherwise incapable of differenciating between the notes he was playing. Before, his tone was fantastic, the amp was top notch and clearly his bass had no trouble pickink up the sound.

And so I ask, why go that low? I mean, I could understand buying one if I could tell between the notes, but please tell me. :confused:

Thanks!

2. I've heard tracks with Stew McKinsey playing groove lines on his 10 string bass an *octave* below what you'd normally expect and I can verify that the low notes are a) distinguishable b) clean c) well executed. All that is probably a combination of a) Stew's playing ability (AWESOME) b) Stew's Conklin 10 string bass (AWESOME) c) the recording facility doing a great job and having good knowledge of EQ settings to get the sound to cut through.