BFX Series Amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by LittleHetzel, Aug 20, 2001.

1. LittleHetzel

Aug 15, 2001
    Howdy ( no i am not from texas, i just felt like sayin that)

Hi, i'm jon, i am new. anyways, i flippin through a catalog and i found this cool lookin BFX series amps , by Crate. I was wonderin if anyone ones one of these, or cool tell me if they are quality , good, ect. See the reason they looked cool to me ( i wouldn't totaly know, i am new to the bass as well, i got mine on June, 30, this year, my birthday) is that they have like built in effects, cool. so if anyone could respond to me on this that would be cool, also, i just thought of this, are effects better like if you get a pedal? or better like on an amp, any response would be appreciated, thanks,

2. Ok, so this replay is coming REALLY late, but I just joined TalkBass.

I have the BFX-100 bass amp. When I first saw it, I was really impressed with the effects so I bought it right away. However, I soon realized that it wasn't very practical (for me anyways). Of course, the delay effect is fun because if I set it right I can sound like Victor Wooten when I play slap bass, HA!
    The effects are also fun to get the creative process going and to hear your lines in different ways. I have actually written some cool lines with the help of the effects, but never actually used the effects when my band played the songs.

All in all, its a solid amp, the balanced line out in the back is nice to hook up to a PA (if you have a loud band the 100 watts my not be enough) and the effects are fun to play with but may not always be practical. I hope my 2 cents helps you or anyone else wondering.

3. I have had my BFX50 for a bit under two years now and by and large it has been a very adequete (sp?)