1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

bi amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mostfoulvillain, Dec 15, 2011.

1. mostfoulvillain

mostfoulvillain

Dec 15, 2011
    whats up,im new to talk bass;
    i am playing through a peavey firebass 700 head witch has
    x over outs. i have two cabs 212 and 215;i was wondering what would be a good application for this?

2. jungleheat

jungleheat Banned

Jun 19, 2011
    DC
    So you're saying you're bi curious?

Basically, you would run the lows to the 2x15 and the highs to the 2x12. Assuming there's an adjustable crossover frequency, play with that until the sound coming out of both cabs is somewhat balanced and everything sounds good.

3. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    The idea with bi-amping a head like that is you would have one speaker cab ideally designed for the highs and another ideally designed for the lows. So like a small tweeter box or guitar cab for the highs, and a big box of woofers for the lows. In most cases if you have two full-range cabs (like the ones you probably have) bi-amping will actually work worse than just running both cabs full range the way they were designed.

4. bongomania

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    ...Except that you run a high risk of blowing the 215 trying to match your usual volume levels, since only a tiny amount of signal will be going to the 212, in a colossal waste of resources.

5. mostfoulvillain

mostfoulvillain

Dec 15, 2011
    thanx guys
    the cabs are seisic audio and were specified for bass;but prob. full range speakers
    i was thinking of designating the 212 for distortion and the 215 for heavy low
    what do you think?

6. spaz21387

spaz21387

Feb 25, 2008
    Portland oregon