Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bi-Amping Cabinets

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jeff Corallo, Sep 28, 2000.

1. Jeff Corallo

Jeff Corallo

May 30, 2000
    I'm relatively new at configuring bass rigs and have thought about bi-amping some cabinets. I currently own an Ampeg B2R which puts out 350 watts at 4 ohms. The Ampeg literature suggests the use of a crossover in a bi-amp situation. If I added another comparable amp putting out 350 watts at 4 ohms utilizing a crossover between the two heads (and each head is driving its own cabinet), at any one time, I would be putting out a maximum wattage of only 350 watts and not 700 watts. In essence, the crossover will act as a "power limiter". So, why is a crossover necessary if you want the 700 watts? In addition, why should you limit the frequency to a cab? (Although a high frequency is not in the proper range of an 18" speaker, so what. This would mean that a person with a combo amp with one 18" speaker should not be able to play the entire range of sounds thru this amp...it is only good for very low frequencies.)

2. White_Knight

White_Knight

Mar 19, 2000
    USA