bi amping

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bfitz, Jun 2, 2005.

1. bfitz

May 18, 2005
    lorain, ohio
    i am starting to try and figure out how to bi-amp (i think that is the right term). i just purchased a boss gt-6b and it has stereo outs on it and i am running it into a g-k backline 350 head into the backline 410 cab, and also into a kustom 250 head into a kustom 2x15 cab. im useing the g-k for more of a bright sound and the kustom for a bassy\midrange sound. this is my first attempt at anything like this and i dont know if i got it semi-right or not. i've heard of pre amps, d.i. boxes, and a few other things of the sort but i really don't know what there all for, or if they aply to bi amping at all. also, i haven't used this setup live yet and was hopeing for any advice on how to mike the cabs, or should i just use the d.i. out on my g-k head. thank you for any advise that you have.
  2. cirwin

May 2, 2005
    Bi-amping (as the name implies) technically refers to using two power amps, connected to two speaker cabinets, with an active crossover to send low frequency material to one set and high frequency material to the other. Just plugging full-range outputs into two separate amp/speaker combos isn't true bi-amping.

The purpose of bi-amping is to more efficiently use different sized speakers to reproduce your sound. For instance, having a 15" spkr for low frequencies and 10" spkrs for the higher frequencies. The drawback is more gear and some added complexity. (Stereo power amp, crossover, preamp, two or more speaker cabs.) However some manufacturers are making bass heads that have bi-amp capability built-in. (G-K and Eden among others.)

Since this seems to be a new field for you, you might want to check around and see if you can find someone who's had some experience with these kinds of set-ups (possibly a PA guys - we always used bi- & tri-amped systems for PA work) and have a chat with them about it.

Charlie Irwin
  3. BruceWane