Big band!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by anonymous278347457, Jan 11, 2006.

1. anonymous278347457

anonymous278347457 Guest

Feb 12, 2005
    I started playing bass for my school big band (im 14) and i was wondering what sort of stuff should i try and learn(out of school) that will help me improve my playing. Also i kinda suck at sight reading off score. this is kinda strange since i also play piano and clarinet. But i think its mainly finding the notes on the bass that i find hard. also the constantly moving basslines.

so what can i do to improve?

btw. i usually play rock/metal
  2. Kronos

Dec 28, 2005
    Philadelphia, PA
    Find a song you really, really dig. Then get the tab/notation for it, or figure it out for yourself. Play the heck out of it. You'll really start to understand the bass if you have fun with it.
  3. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

There are lots of great Big Band stuff to listen to, but I personally enjoy anything by Buddy Rich. This one, for instance, is a great album:

Speaking of Buddy Rich, Neil Peart (Rush's drummer) produced two tribute albums some years ago. They're called "Burning For Buddy" and are excellent versions of Buddy's work (Don't miss "Slo Funk". Terrific tune!):

Hope this helps.

(Off topic: Message composing tools aren't working after last night's maintenance)
  4. dirkjonker

Nov 3, 2005
    If you play in a bigband you should definitely learn to read. Buy or copy sheetmusic and read as much as you can!
    This is also a good program by Gary Willis to help you read ahead:
    It's very annoying to do but eventually it's worth spending a little time every day on reading.
  5. AGCurry

Jun 29, 2005
    Kansas City