1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Big Cabinet decisions help me

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ariff, Nov 1, 2010.

1. ariff

ariff

Nov 28, 2007
    Lawrence KS
    I have finally sold enough gear to upgrade my cabinets. I have been playing through a 4x10 and 1x15 for the last 12 years or so. I am torn between the 8x10's and 4x12's. I have been looking at the Mesa boogie and GK neo cabs. Problem is there is no place around here that has any in stock for me to test out. I have a Carvin B1500 head I'll be using to power the cab. There is a guy on CL that has a Mesa Powerhouse 8x10 cab for sale he is about an hour away. I can go test it out, but I have no place to try the 4x12 to compare with. I am wondering if I should wait until one of the stores here have one, but by that time I am sure the Mesa 8x10 craigs list deal will be long gone. He has it priced at $900. Not to mention that cab weighs more than I do at 173LBS. Which I can deal with. but it better sound like a million bucks ;>)
    So anyone out there with expierence with 4x12's vs 8x10's and what to expect sound wise? I am playing in two bands a Rock n Roll cover gig and original Punk rock band. The Punk rock band is very loud. I compete with a loud drummer and two guitarists using 4x12's
    Well thanks for any help guys!

2. Mike Shevlin

Mike Shevlin

Feb 16, 2005
    Las Vegas
  3. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Apr 1, 2004
    New York, NY