Big Muff compared to Darkglass or Swell overdrive

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Killens84, Dec 17, 2012.

1. Killens84

Killens84 Supporting Member

Sep 3, 2008
    Mississippi
    I've been playing bass for several years, but I've just now become interested in effects. I wanted a pedal that would make my sound a little bigger and dirtier for playing popular rock covers (nothing extremely heavy). I bought an Electro-Harmonix Big Muff, and that wasn't what I was looking for.

I'm now looking at either a Darkglass B3K or a Swell B-Pro overdrive. How much difference will either of those pedals be from the Big Muff? And will either of those pedals give me that little bit of boost and dirt without going overboard?

2. JonnyAngle

JonnyAngle Dropping Acid Pedal Etching .com Supporting Member Commercial User

Nov 24, 2008
    Maple Grove, MN
    DroppingAcidPedalEtching.com
    I haven't tried the B3K or Swell, but I do know that they are not fuzz pedals like the Muff. Therefore, they are totally different. Everyone else, I'm sure, will give a much more detailed explanation.

3. NKUSigEp

NKUSigEp

Jun 6, 2006
    Bright, IN
    HUGE difference. One is a fuzz, the others are overdrives. And there are major differences between the Swell and the Darkglass too. The Darkglass is bright and sparkly and the Swell is rich and wooly (more like an old SVT).

4. tink9975

tink9975

Aug 10, 2006
    MoCo, MD
    the B3K and the Swell are very different from the muff.

I don't have any experience with the B3K (yet), I use a Swell B-Drive as my OD. With 2 gain levels accessible by foot switch, you can set one channel for a little bit of grit and warmth, and the other for a more distorted sound. (though it wont get fuzzy like the Muff).