1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Big rant about contemporary music courses

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by afromoose, Apr 17, 2009.

1. afromoose

afromoose Guest

Ok big rant coming.

I just went and checked out a bass course at a well-respected music college.

They have requirements that you learn and achieve a certain standard in what they consider to be key skills in the bass playing music industry. Okay, this might be a bit controversial, but I've been playing for the past ten years, and generally I've found if you:

Play slap bass
    Play mostly harmonics
    Start playing the bass as if it's complete instrument (ie, melody and chords)

..for more than about 10 seconds...

Then people basically won't want you in their band.

I say that, there is of course the uber-cheese or pure technique bands (like Jeff Beck's band) that have no sense of taste whatsoever (I cite 'Mama Said' as an example of this), but generally any band I've seen that's current and that's any good doesn't have one of these bass players.

Ray Brown was highly respected as a bass player for example, but when does he play pieces that consist mainly of harmonics? Even Flea said in 1991 that slap bass had got massively overplayed, overexposed, and was starting to be commonly viewed as being a macho and crass way of playing. So now it's nearly 20 years later, surely it's even more redundant now? As far as I can tell, I don't think it's enjoying a resurgence. In my experience, slap bass today generally makes people yawn, or worse, cringe. Amongst curators of events, good booking agents, or serious musicians and artists looking to find a bass player to assist interpreting their music, I would not even want a rumour to go round that I play slap bass.