Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bill Laswell

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by djproject, Jul 8, 2001.

1. I'm happy because I found out another bassist to identify with musically.

Bill Laswell. From what little I know of him, he is really into jazz, fusion and more recently electronica (particularly ambient). I discovered in my copy of <I>Excursions in Ambience: The Third Dimension</I>. One of his many, many names is Divination and the song is "Ancient Evenings (Najm-Al-Din) and I really like it.

I'm happy because I feel torn (especially in this group) between my musical loves and the fact that I'm a bassist. But now I've found a link between the two (or to put it more realistically, the two can finally make sense with each other and I'm not alone).

I appreciate your input as always. :)

Derek J. Power

2. Bill is great, my favorite is Invisible Design, great disk. Spacey with lots of odd but great playing.

3. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    Bill Laswell...wasn't he the dude that did Praxis w/ Buckethead?

4. pereajc

pereajc

May 3, 2001
    I just read recently that Bill Laswell is going to be playing with Zakir Hussain in a group called Tabla Beat Science. Can't wait to see/hear what that's all about...

5. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    How 'bout Arcana?
    Perhaps, the most difficult album I own in terms of listening to; this particular cd has Laswell, Tony Williams(drums), & Derek Bailey(guitar) goin' off into sonic-ville & beyond. Bailey, Hell, I dunno, anybody here got a clue about him?
    Basically, he uses the guitar as a tool to make 'sounds'? Not for the faint of heart. ;)

In any event, I love Laswell's production & his knowledge & what he's attempting to accomplish with music. His re-mix of Miles' electric music(called Pantalassa) is, IMO, happenin'; he definitely has an ear for that stuff!