Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bill Wyman did you like his bass lines?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Bassesq, Jul 13, 2004.

1. Bassesq

Bassesq

Apr 9, 2004
    Long Island
    As a new bassist, I've been learning Beatles and Motown (hate to give away my age). Anyway, I picked up a book with a bunch of Stones songs in them and I think the bass lines are pretty interesting. They seem harder (at least for me since he bounces around more) than the Beatles stuff (generally speaking) for sure.

But what do you more experienced players think of his work??

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    Under my thumb is a cool one.

3. Paul A

Paul A

Dec 13, 1999
    Hertfordshire U.K!
    I've always thought Bill was underrated.
    Some excellent basslines imho. :bassist:

4. he's often quite sloppy in places- as if he kept the first take as the final version, but I like a lot of his lines-
    eg. Undercover of the night, Start me up, Slipping away, Rock and a hard place, Miss you.

5. His lines were pretty simple but they served the songs well, IMO.

As a side note, I can't remember who said that, but I read in BP that when creating a bassline, you should start with the most notes, then strip your line down to the core elements - the little things that make people's butts move. I think Bill was pretty good at that. :cool:

I heard him play some crappy upright lines, though. Waaaay out of tune.

6. Even keeping in mind that some classic Stones bass was played by others (e.g., "Sympathy For The Devil" is Keith, "Tumbling Dice" is Mick Taylor, "Emotional Rescue" is Ron), Wyman did a lot of nice work with the Stones. Very much the anti-McCartney--he was not interested in being melodic, but funky. Even something as simple as his line on "Satisfaction" reveals this mindset.