Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bizarre cable incident...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Marcus Willett, May 13, 2005.

1. Marcus Willett

Marcus Willett Supporting Member

Feb 8, 2005
    Palm Bay, FL
    Endorsing Artist: Bag End - Dean Markley - Thunderfunk
    OK, so I have our sound tech make me a cable. I wanted a shorter one to go from my bass (passive Aero's) to my DI (Fishman Platinum Pro) to my amp. I used Canare cable with Neutrik connectors. There was some sound diff, but that's not what's weird, here is:

When I plug in with the new cable (all other variables are the same), I have no taper on my volume pot on the bass. I have a master volume, and with this cable I seem to have 2 settings. Full on, or anything less than full on (like backing off just a bit on the master volume), and the level immediately goes down to perhaps 25% and will stay there unless I am full off. Wha-? I don't get it. The cable works....but...? A polarity issue? I dunno, neither the tech or I have ever encountered this. :help:

2. bigbeefdog

bigbeefdog Who let the dogs in?

Jul 7, 2003
    Mandeville, LA
    REALLY reaching here.... but perhaps a *very* slight short somewhere in the new cable (perhaps one wayward strand).... one which can be "overpowered" when you send the full signal from your passive pups, but drops you below an input voltage "threshold" on the DI or amp when you turn down.... ???

As I said...... I'm WAY out on a limb......

3. Marcus Willett

Feb 8, 2005
    Palm Bay, FL
    Yeah, anything is possible I guess tho that seems something very hard to track down. I was hoping someone had something like this happen before...?

4. Droog

Droog

Aug 14, 2003
    PDX