1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Blew My Head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Preston Smith, Nov 18, 2018.

1. Preston Smith

Preston Smith

Aug 1, 2016
    Hey everyone.

Blew my amp a while back, 225w into 800w cab. Uh come to find out, I should've been bridging the bi-amps for 700w. Duh but I'm studying audio and kinda learning this impedance stuff.

I think it's cause I was pushing it too hard.

150 W head into 800 W cabinet
    350w head into 800w cab, is this ok?

In these threads everyone assures that there will be no problem using a small head into a huge cab in terms of watts, to the extent of mocking the OP, but I think they neglect the real issue. Yeah the cabs gonna be fine but what about the amp? What about the amp??

Fight.

2. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011
    When bridging you need to be mindful of the amp's minimum impedance rating. Typically the minimum impedance rating doubles when the amp is put into bridge mode. For example, the minimum load might be 4 ohms in dual mono or stereo modes, but 8 ohms in bridge mode.

Here's whats going on. The output section of an amp can only supply so much current before it overheats and incurs damage. The minimum impedance rating is related to this. One side of the amp develops a certain voltage, and when the voltage is applied to the impedance of a speaker a certain amount of current flows that is within the limits of the output section. Assume the amp develops close to its maximum current when driven hard into a 4 ohm load.