Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Blisters!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by fastplant, Jan 14, 2003.

1. fastplant

fastplant

Sep 26, 2002
    Connecticut
    Believe it or not I actually have done a search and read the 10,234 threads about blisters, but couldn't come up with an answer for my question. I played bass for many years, but I took a break for a while and drummed for a band for a few years. Anyway, I'm back to payling bass and in the meantime, I lost all my callouses. So I started playing again last week and of course I got some pretty nice blisters. Anyway, I don't have much of a chance to just let it heal as I'm going to be playing a lot in the next few weeks. Here's my deal: I popped the blister and now it's like a white piece of skin on the top of my finger. I'm dying to just rip it off, but I know that that's bad for it. But it seems like it's not going to heal if I just leave it alone. It's like a separate piece of skin and is not going away. Should I just rip it off and start building a calous or should I play with it the way it is and hope it turns into a calous (which it doesn't seem like it will because it's been like this for over a week). Thanks guys and sorry for the long post.

2. I just had a similar experience. I played for about 8 years, and then took a 2 year break(career, life, moving about the country 3 times). Anyhow, I joined a band in Boston this past summer, and I play w/ elixers, so I didn't experience any blisters... but now we're recording our first album, and I switched to DR Low Riders for a better sound. Well, needless to say, I've got blisters on my fingers like I haven't had in years. I carefully used a needle to poke a small hole, and lose the water, to allow them to heal. That seemed to do the trick for me.

...and I also have a pretty big gig next week! :eek: