Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bloodwood Neck & Fretboard

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by iualum, Jul 2, 2004.

1. iualum

iualum

Apr 9, 2004
    Interested in using Bloodwood for a bass Neck & Fretboard. This stuff is striking.

What type of tone might I expect? Would it be similar to any other type of wood?

Are there any issues to be aware of with Bloodwood?

Might it be safer and/or better to do Purpleheart?

Thanks very much.

2. tjclem

tjclem Supporting Member Commercial User

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Owner and builder Clementbass
    Good topic I have 1 bloodwood fingerboard and 2 purpleheart ones I am looking forward to using. I have no experience with them yet.........t

3. FBB Custom

FBB Custom TalkBass Pro Commercial User

Jan 26, 2002
    Maryland
    Owner: FBB Bass Works
    Properties are similar (IME) to purpleheart. Dense, splintery in rough form. Takes a good finish. No reason not to try it if you don't mind a heavy neck.

4. Balor

Balor

Sep 24, 2000
    Montréal, Québec
    I've been talking to my luthier about a bloodwood fingerboard with headstock and neck veneer to match... for a fretless! His only consern seemed to be that the bloodwood might stain the maple he'll use for the neck... To avoid this, he plans to use a black veneer in between. He'd agreed with you on the tonal properties: very close to purpleheart.

take care
    PL

5. tjclem

Jun 6, 2004
    Central Florida
    Where can I get some "black veneer" I would like to use it in several projects........t

6. Balor

Balor

Sep 24, 2000
    Montréal, Québec
    I don't know where, I only know what my luthier uses : it's stained pear-tree. Hope it helps a bit...

PL

7. iualum

iualum

Apr 9, 2004
    Thanks.