Bloody Pedals!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Lee Edward, Sep 29, 2022.

1. Lee Edward

Lee Edward

Jan 28, 2021
    I have been playing with a band for a few months and things are starting to get serious. The pedals I currently use are a tuner and a big muff (on one song), but I have been looking and feel I would benefit from a compressor. What else would people recommend to just give me a more consistent feel? Or is the compressor enough?

2. I can’t help you with your question. I saw the title, had a chuckle, and came here to ask if you are an Aussie.

3. Lee Edward

Lee Edward

Jan 28, 2021
    :laugh: No I'm not an Aussie, I am British.

Peter Torning, Blue Moose and WRM like this.
  4. Lenny JG

Lenny JG

Aug 3, 2019
    USA
    EQ pedal.

5. It probably depends on what consistency. Between notes, or between each end of a steady crescendo. If it's the second, then a compressor will help. If it's the first, a compressor may still help if it saves you from having to force things to get the dynamics you want.

You're probably right, getting a compressor is likely enough, but thinking about what makes the inconsistency is the first thing to consider, to get the best out of the compressor.

When I was focussing on other details of sound I tried several things with a compressor, and kidded myself they were working, and they weren't, and in the end I settled for a low 2:1 ratio and used the threshold and attack to get what I wanted from it. Starting with a low ratio is likely to get you there faster than starting high, because killing the dynamics is no fun, and it hides details you probably want to hear.

BlueTalon and Lee Edward like this.
  6. Yes, if it's consistency of timbre, but the question was about 'feel', so probably a dynamic thing, and if he's thinking of compressors, he's probably after fixing dynamics. Not that going for EQ first is wrong, I did it that way and it works out in the end.